Visual Studio Code Setup With DevKitPro and libnds
One line of code makes all the difference.
-
Artisan
RPG Character: Floride The Hedgehog - Honorary Member
-
Freshman Member
- Posts: 237
- Joined: January 5th, 2022, 14:44
- 2
- Has thanked: 13 times
- Been thanked: 1404 times
- Gender:
-
Formula 1 WebTip
Formula 1 points : 160
29. Place
(2 of 27 races tipped so far) -
Contests (Nintendo 3DS Central)
Nintendo 3DS Central
Partners, and Forum Memberships
Special
Milestones
Visual Studio Code Setup With DevKitPro and libnds
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIB7mIlESTg[/youtube]
My setup.
{
"workbench.colorTheme": "Quiet Light",
"window.zoomLevel": -1,
"cmake.configureArgs": ["-DCMAKE_TOOLCHAIN_FILE=/opt/devkitpro/cmake/NDS.cmake"]
}
Another bridge was made. All you have to do is run a CMake build command in Visual Studio Code, which will run on DS using a Flashcard or homebrew DSi/3DS family of systems. It is provided that the code is in C/C++. Have fun coding!
EDIT: You will need the C/C++ and CMake extensions.
My setup.
{
"workbench.colorTheme": "Quiet Light",
"window.zoomLevel": -1,
"cmake.configureArgs": ["-DCMAKE_TOOLCHAIN_FILE=/opt/devkitpro/cmake/NDS.cmake"]
}
Another bridge was made. All you have to do is run a CMake build command in Visual Studio Code, which will run on DS using a Flashcard or homebrew DSi/3DS family of systems. It is provided that the code is in C/C++. Have fun coding!
EDIT: You will need the C/C++ and CMake extensions.
Last edited by Artisan on March 9th, 2024, 11:08, edited 1 time in total! word count: 85
-
Artisan
RPG Character: Floride The Hedgehog - Honorary Member
-
Freshman Member
- Posts: 237
- Joined: January 5th, 2022, 14:44
- 2
- Has thanked: 13 times
- Been thanked: 1404 times
- Gender:
-
Formula 1 WebTip
Formula 1 points : 160
29. Place
(2 of 27 races tipped so far) -
Contests (Nintendo 3DS Central)
Nintendo 3DS Central
Partners, and Forum Memberships
Special
Milestones
Re: Visual Studio Code Setup With DevKitPro and libnds
Side note. cmake.configureArgs is depreciated so instead replace that with cmake.configureSettings. Visual Studio gives you the grammatical squiggles as what is put in isn't an object, but it says it's fine since this is a kit. If anyone knows the solution in the form of a [key:value] pair for this same application, that would be great!
word count: 61
-
Artisan
RPG Character: Floride The Hedgehog - Honorary Member
-
Freshman Member
- Posts: 237
- Joined: January 5th, 2022, 14:44
- 2
- Has thanked: 13 times
- Been thanked: 1404 times
- Gender:
-
Formula 1 WebTip
Formula 1 points : 160
29. Place
(2 of 27 races tipped so far) -
Contests (Nintendo 3DS Central)
Nintendo 3DS Central
Partners, and Forum Memberships
Special
Milestones
Re: Visual Studio Code Setup With DevKitPro and libnds
I went into settings and set the configureArgs the same way and it doesn't show any errors. I think the CompilerPath is fine if set to empty. I put in the includes to the files anyway. When I set something to the CompilerPath I got a message saying it's using cl.exe instead of the include path for NDS.cmake. I'm just going to assume it works but if it doesn't I'll be back on this thread to let you know.
word count: 86
-
Artisan
RPG Character: Floride The Hedgehog - Honorary Member
-
Freshman Member
- Posts: 237
- Joined: January 5th, 2022, 14:44
- 2
- Has thanked: 13 times
- Been thanked: 1404 times
- Gender:
-
Formula 1 WebTip
Formula 1 points : 160
29. Place
(2 of 27 races tipped so far) -
Contests (Nintendo 3DS Central)
Nintendo 3DS Central
Partners, and Forum Memberships
Special
Milestones
Re: Visual Studio Code Setup With DevKitPro and libnds
I've been getting include errors. So rule 1: Make sure the compiler path is correct (I ended up not leaving it blank). Rule 2: Double-check your path settings. By the time you are done, no more #include errors. #include <nds.h> shouldn't have squiggles. If there's an error with including "files" attached to it, they do not exist yet. You cannot use <iostream> on nds games!
HEY! You can’t view this file! But there might be other files that you can view though!
word count: 75
- Demon_skeith
- Co-Administrator
-
Freshman Member
- Posts: 249
- Joined: December 23rd, 2020, 3:35
- 3
- Referrals: 11
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 1639 times
-
Formula 1 WebTip
Formula 1 points : 0
No ranking
(0 of 27 races tipped so far) -
Contests (Nintendo 3DS Central)
Partners, and Forum Memberships
Personal
Special
Others
Milestones
Re: Visual Studio Code Setup With DevKitPro and libnds
So is this for making a DS into a homebrew device?
word count: 11
-
Artisan
RPG Character: Floride The Hedgehog - Honorary Member
-
Freshman Member
- Posts: 237
- Joined: January 5th, 2022, 14:44
- 2
- Has thanked: 13 times
- Been thanked: 1404 times
- Gender:
-
Formula 1 WebTip
Formula 1 points : 160
29. Place
(2 of 27 races tipped so far) -
Contests (Nintendo 3DS Central)
Nintendo 3DS Central
Partners, and Forum Memberships
Special
Milestones
Re: Visual Studio Code Setup With DevKitPro and libnds
If you have a Flashcard, DSi, or CFW 3DS you can make and test games that use DevKitPro and libnds, and the first video and his (Coding with Mat's) previous videos. Visual Studio Code being an IDE is SUPER helpful for intermediate coders with knowledge of C and C++. And with it being able to link with Github is a plus.
If you are a beginner and only care about 2D, then DS Game Maker is an option.
Last edited by Artisan on April 27th, 2024, 19:41, edited 1 time in total! word count: 98
Last 255 Members Who Visited This Topic! Total 187 visits
Sammi (9), Lyn (15), Artisan (20), Grace (9), Arial (7), Tiger21820 (24), YoshiPikachuPlayer (1), Morgiana (7), Tiger21821 (27), Kougyoku (15), Maria (14), Tiger21822 (19), Notte (4), Lyndis (12), Demon_skeith (2), Tedhaun (2)
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users… and 2 guests